Loading...
Whitgift School
Whitgift School Whitgift School

Main Menu

Mobile Menu

Main Menu  

Social Media

Headmaster's Blog

It has been a more varied term than usual

That excitement - adrenalin, butterflies, stage fright, call it what you will - ...

Date published: Thu 29 Mar 2018

Read full post

Another extraordinary week at Whitgift

The range - musical and drama on stage in consecutive weeks, football and rugby ...

Date published: Wed 21 Mar 2018

Read full post

Listening, Presenting and Discipline

Theatre is always as much about teamwork as any other activity: mutual support, ...

Date published: Mon 12 Mar 2018

Read full post

The Beast from the East

And here we are at the end of a week which has been bitterly cold, relentlessly ...

Date published: Mon 5 Mar 2018

Read full post

Whitgift Foundation and tradition

… for all of us there is a certain element of life which is good fortune, and we...

Date published: Mon 26 Feb 2018

Read full post

Education is not meant to be easy, and it’s not meant to be comforting

Hence the vital importance to us of debating, discussion groups, and even lively...

Date published: Tue 20 Feb 2018

Read full post

Musical competition

Can music be competitive? It’s a fair question....

Date published: Tue 30 Jan 2018

Read full post

Clash, Commitment, Priority and Depth

We all, I take it, agree that the key is making the best of those opportunities,...

Date published: Mon 22 Jan 2018

Read full post

Rising to new and interesting challenges

A zest for following an interest, can lead to great things...

Date published: Mon 15 Jan 2018

Read full post

Happy New Year

Determination, preparation and a calm head will make you perform better...

Date published: Mon 8 Jan 2018

Read full post

Happy Christmas to all our readers

So, now is the time to stop, pause, refresh and reflect....

Date published: Fri 15 Dec 2017

Read full post

Attitude and effort vs victory and achievement

The short-term reward is a holiday; the long-term reward is a life attitude whic...

Date published: Mon 4 Dec 2017

Read full post

High level sport and soft skills

High levels of school and national commitment makes the boys organised and bette...

Date published: Mon 27 Nov 2017

Read full post

Wholehearted commitment in each and every case will reap the obvious rewards

Reading - it must be central to any institution which prioritises thinking, lear...

Date published: Mon 20 Nov 2017

Read full post

Everything changes, but humans remain full of an appetite for growth

The story of humanity is not linear progress from vice to virtue, but we do what...

Date published: Mon 13 Nov 2017

Read full post

We are in a real engine-room of creativity and achievement

I was told several times that the Autumn Collection concert would be outstanding...

Date published: Fri 27 Oct 2017

Read full post

Three cheers for effort and enterprise

Inborn intelligence (‘potential’ would be shorthand) vs taught (and therefore le...

Date published: Mon 16 Oct 2017

Read full post

Learning, like teaching, is a human process

It's the connection between the learner and the teacher at a human level whi...

Date published: Mon 9 Oct 2017

Read full post

The key and timeless piece of advice was, and is, to read

'The best moments in reading', says Hector in The History Boys, 'are...

Date published: Mon 2 Oct 2017

Read full post

Thank you to all those who visited us on Saturday's Open Morning

Thank you, therefore, to all those who visited us on Saturday, for your enthusia...

Date published: Mon 25 Sep 2017

Read full post

Activities, Enterprise and Prism

Never has it been more important than today for our best young people to use the...

Date published: Mon 18 Sep 2017

Read full post

Back to School

September is an exciting, re-energising time for anyone with a family. ...

Date published: Mon 11 Sep 2017

Read full post